Pratik Gandhi, Conductor

Pratik Gandhi is a conductor, percussionist, and clinician based in Toronto.

Compositions and Arrangements

Wind Band

Snow Angel (Sarah Quartel)
movements 1 & 5 arranged for concert band, in progress

Bogoroditse Devo, from the All-Night Vigil, Op. 37 (Sergei Rachmaninoff)
orchestrated for concert band, August 2017
premiered 15 December 2018, Toronto, ON
by the Rouge River Winds (Pratik Gandhi, cond.)

A Kaleidoscope of Mathematics, from A Beautiful Mind (James Horner)
transcribed for concert band with opt. solo voice and opt. piano, July 2016
premiered 20 August 2016, Toronto, ON
by Shilpa Sharma, voice, and the Rouge River Winds (Pratik Gandhi, cond.)

Promise and Possibility (A B.O.S.S. Celebration)
for concert band with rhythm section and opt. SATB chorus, composed January 2010
commissioned by Bur Oak S.S. (Shirley Madden, head of music)
premiered June 2010, Markham, ON

Korobeiniki (traditional Russian folk melody)
arranged for concert band, March 2009
premiered May 2009, Vaughan, ON,
by Vaughan S.S. Junior Concert Band (Lani Sommers, cond.)

Lux Stellarum (Starlight)
for concert band, composed December 2001
premiered June 2002, Markham, ON,
by Markham D.H.S. Grade 11 Wind Symphony (Mark Caswell, cond.)

The Egg Travels, from Disney's Dinosaur (James Newton Howard)
transcribed for concert band, July 2001
premiered October 2001, Markham, ON,
by Markham D.H.S. Wind Symphony (Bill Thomas, cond.)


Brass Band

Soul Bossa Nova (Quincy Jones)
arranged for brass band, May 2008
premiered June 2008, London, ON,
by UWO Convocation Brass (James R. McKay, cond.)


Chamber Ensembles

What's Bulgarian for S---?
for flute, clarinet, cello, double bass, and piano, composed October 2014
premiered November 2014, Toronto, ON

O Nata Lux (Morten Lauridsen)
transcribed for nine winds (fl, 2ob, 2cl, 2bsn, 2hn), July 2010
premiered 3 August 2010, Toronto, ON,
by Windago Chamber Winds (Pratik Gandhi, cond.)


Solo Instrument

Morceau de concert
for solo clarinet, composed March 2005
premiered April 2005, London, ON


Vocal Ensembles

Coventry Carol (traditional)
arranged for SSATBB sextet or chorus, October 2008
premiered December 2008, London, ON
by six vocal ensemble


Solo Voice with Accompaniment

The force that through the green fuse drives the flower (text by Dylan Thomas)
for soprano, cello, and piano, composed January 2009
premiered April 2009, London, ON,
by Casandra Campbell, soprano; Evan Wiebe, cello; and Timothy Cheung, piano

Dust of Snow (text by Robert Frost)
for soprano and piano, composed February 2008
premiered February 2008, London, ON,
by Casandra Campbell, soprano, and Tanya Ellis, piano

Puedo Escribir (text by Pablo Neruda) – abridged version
for soprano and marimba, composed March 2007
premiered April 2007, London, ON,
by Monica Shank, soprano, and Brennan Connolly, marimba

Puedo Escribir (text by Pablo Neruda) – complete version
for soprano and marimba, composed January 2007

Oh, Oh, You Will Be Sorry For That Word (text by Edna St. Vincent Millay)
for mezzo-soprano and string quartet (or piano), composed February 2006
premiered February 2008, London, ON,
by Julia Barber, mezzo-soprano, with string quartet

Aedh Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven (text by W.B. Yeats)
for mezzo-soprano and piano, composed February 2005
premiered February 2005, London, ON,
by Nadia Dubeau, mezzo-soprano, and Tanya Ellis, piano